Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Open Eyed Meditations by Shubha Vilas : Book Review

“No matter how much you try, you cannot make friendship deepen faster.
The test of friendship remains time.”

This beautiful quote is a part of this beautiful book which is a treasure of wisdom that one can put to use in day-to-day scenarios of life.

Meditation is a state of deep peace that occurs when the mind is calm and silent. So it is not necessarily done with closed eyes sitting in a corner away from everything listening to or chanting some mantras. This is the myth Shubha Vilas, the author breaks in his book Open-eyed Mediations and conveys an important message that meditation is possible with open eyes.

The author has divided this book into 64 various chapters and each chapter makes you teach some practical worthwhile lesson. And the best thing is you can choose any chapter to read. The language is very simple. Moreover, various scenarios of Ramayana and Mahabharata are linked to present inspiring lessons making it very interesting and not like any self-help book.

This book is really special because it is written by Shubha Vilas who not only holds a degree in engineering but in law as well. Still at the core he is an author, a motivational speaker, lifestyle coach, and motivational speaker. So this book is from someone comes from varied experience in life. And so in this book shares valuable life lessons which will be beneficial to everyone.

This review is a part of the biggest <a href="" target="_blank"> Book Review Program </a> for <a href="" target="_blank">Indian Bloggers.</a> Participate now to get free books!

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

6 Degrees – Game Of Blogs : Book Review

To #CelebrateBlogging, in the September of 2014 the Blogadda team came up with this idea where bloggers would collaborate and work single-mindedly creating a story based on the characters given by them. Thus, Game of Blogs was born.
After many rounds, three teams were selected as winners by a team of renowned authors and 6 Degrees - Game of Blogs, the first collaborative blogging novel was published. The stories which made to the final entry into the book were: The Awakening – a science fiction, Entangled Life – a murder mystery, and Missing – A Journey Within – a thriller.
The Intriguing Characters -
Sekhar Dutta: a house husband and freelance writer with not much work these days;
Tara Dutta: Sekhar’s wife and a highly successful professional in a media house
Roohi Dutta: 9 year old girl of Sekhar and Tara
Jennifer : a fun loving girl with her Nikon camera
Cyrus: a law student
Aryan Ahuja : Neighbor of Sekhar and Tara

Story #1: The Awakening
The first story is a science fiction. It begins with lives of Shekhar, Roohi and Tara, a small family living in the city of Mumbai. When they get visitors Cyrus, a family friend and Jennifer, Shekhar's friend, things start to change. New events start happening threatening their happiness.

Are they able to keep their relationships and happiness? Read on to uncover all the mystery behind the visitors.

Story #2: Entangled Lives
Being a lover of mysteries, I liked this one the best. You will be hooked from the beginning with the lives of Shekhar and Tara. One fine day  their daughter Roohi meets Cyrus and he gets introduced to the Duttas. On the other hand Tara meets Jennifer who wanted to pursue her career in photography. When Jennifer and Cyrus visit, a murder happens.
The story is all about uncovering the truth by the Inspector Jawalkar.
You will have to read it to know who was behind the murder and the reason. I am sure you will not be able to guess.

Story #3: Missing – A Journey Within

One day Roohi Dutta disappears  from her school. How her parents Shekhar and Tara  are able to find her, is the story. Jennifer who comes to Mumbai and clicked lot of pics . One of the pic is of Roohi. She immediately informs Shekhar and Tara. You must be wondering, where does Cyrus come in the story? Get the book and find out, along with if Roohi was found.

Team ByLines
Team Potliwale Baba
Team Tete-a-ten

Rating – A big 5/5

6 Degrees is India's first book published through collaborative blogging, written completely by bloggers for the Game of Blogs activity at BlogAdda. Know more about Game of Blogs here. You can buy 6 Degrees: Game of Blogs if you liked the review. :) 
This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!